TBT – Throwback Thursday

I’m still alive 🙂 !

In Norway it’s Thursday afternoon and that means Throwback-Thursday! A few days ago I was looking through my photo uploads on 微信 – weixin / wechat, which is pretty much a Chinese version of whatsapp, you can send photos, voice messages, videos, and you also have your own “moments” where you can upload photos and your friends can like it ~ So it’s quite cool 🙂 Anyhow, I found 2 photos that I uploaded the same day as I met my 老公’s parents. So now you can probably guess what I will write about? Of course, the first time I met ChenChen’s parents and what that was like..
Before I start, there’s a few things you should know about my in-laws;
♥ They don’t speak a word of English
♥ They have seen a lot of foreigners, but never talked to a foreigner
♥ They are very traditional
♥ And of course, as every other Chinese parents, they want the best for their son/daughter

So, now that you guys know this you can imagine how I was feeling when I woke up the morning I was going to meet them, I think I changed clothes 16 times, did my makeup 7 times and at the same time I was trying to find something that could cover my tattoos. I knew they don’t like tattoos at all, but ChenChen likes them.. What a dilemma! Cover my tattoos for his parents or show my tattoos because he likes them?! haha.

Finally, we headed to the airport to pick them up, their flight was delayed so I was walking back and forth to the bathroom in the airport checking if my makeup was ok.. Sounds so stupid now, but then I was a nerve-wrack! haha.
At that time I was not very good at speaking Chinese so while we waited for them at the airport, ChenChen was going through some Chinese vocabulary just to make me a little bit more nervous..

So we finally met them, and all I managed to say was “您好” while they were all excited and kept on asking me questions in Chinese, and ChenChen had to translate everything for me, it was quite interesting, but pretty much that’s what the day was like.. We went out for late lunch / dinner, to a Chinese restaurant of course, and I was thinking – “oh, when we are going to eat they won’t ask me so many questions”, guess I was wrong.. haha! I have never answered so many questions before.. Throughout all the questions, the one question I was waiting for was about my tattoos, and if ChenChen and I were sleeping in the same bed.. haha and guess what they asked those 2 questions right after each other.. Oh my.. Thankfully ChenChen knew how nervous I was and answered for me and made them like me :p haha.

photo 1
簋街 – Guijie
photo 3
Yummy food~

 They were going to stay in Beijing for 4 days so we would meet up with them the next day as well, so while we were in the taxi on the way back to their hotel to drop them off they gave us a bracelet each, a very traditional chinese bracelet called   玉手镯

photo 2
Our 玉手镯 ~

When they gave us these bracelets ChenChen quickly told me “They like you” haha. That just made me so much more relaxed and I was able to talk to them, or at least answer some questions and I could tell that it made them really happy. I have to admit though, it was not easy. I think meeting someone who you have never met before, and knowing they don’t speak the language that you speak can really freak you out a little, at least that’s what happened to me. Just 2 months after I met them, we went to Manzhouli to visit the rest of his family and I was actually able to talk to them, haha!

I think the one thing that day taught me is that no matter who you are going to impress, you just got to be yourself, I know that meeting your in-laws or someone else can be difficult especially when you don’t speak the same language and you know that they are judgmental and can be very strict. I told them about my blog, and I asked them “what made you guys “accept” me?” and they both answered, “you were acting natural” so I guess that’s pretty much the same as be yourself!
Now I try to talk to them everyday, using 微信 and just give them some photos of my everyday life, as we are in two complete different countries, and they really appreciate it! I guess Chinese in-laws aren’t as bad as I thought they would be! haha 😀

photo 4
My lovely 婆婆 and I ~

What was it like when you first met your in-laws? Were you also nervous ? >.< haha

nameee

10 thoughts on “TBT – Throwback Thursday

    1. Haha, want to guess her age?! :O she is sitting on a chair, and I was standing next to her but they made me bend down a little haha 😛 From what I’ve read about your MIL I think I will keep mine, hahah! is that cool with you ? 😛

  1. When I met my boyfriend’s parents (btw my bf’s “small name” is also ChenChen :D) they were way more nervous than me. They hardly asked me any questions hahaha. After the second or third time they were not nervous any more.

    When we went to Spain last January for my boyfriend to meet my family, his parents asked if my parents would allow us to sleep in the same room (come on, we are 30, haha). And when we were back they were very worried and asked me if my parents approved of him.

    1. Haha really ? Seems like a lot of people have their nickname as Chenchen.. :p really ? They were nervous !? That’s kinda sweet haha.. Did u speak Chinese at that time though ? After the first day of meeting my in laws I was perfectly fine but didn’t have the confidence to say so much in Chinese lol .. But when we visited them in his hometown they didn’t want us to sleep in the same room . So that’s definitely something they are shocked by haha. My in laws still haven’t met my parents .. That will be a interesting day for sure hahaha

  2. Yes, I could speak Mandarin, in fact my Mandarin is better than theirs, hahaha. They mainly speak Suzhou dialect.
    My in laws didn’t meet my parents either, however every time I go and come from Spain I have to carry lot of presents from both sides hahaha. When they meet I guess it will be just lots of smiles from both sides, as they don’t have any language in common -_-

    1. Ah, thats lucky though! Chenchens parents speak Mandarin but they got a bit of an accent, but they are able to speak Mandarin without it as well so I had no problems understanding them, but his grandparents.. omg.. how can I every communicate with them?! haha, their accent is so strong, even Chenchen got problems understanding them sometimes :p

      My parents and my in laws will be doing the same as your, lots of smiles ! lol.

  3. That’s great that everything went well. 🙂

    I first met my mother-in-law when she came to the States to attend our wedding with my husband’s younger brother didi. We got married in a very small church in Key West. It’s funny, people think we got married in a church because of me (the Western wife) when really, I am not a Christian. My mother-in-law is. It’s all for her. xD

    1. haha that’s funny! In my man’s hometown (manzhouli) which is reallllly close to Russia, there’s a big church, and recently the past 5-10 years there’s been so many weddings there, because all the Chinese want to get married the “western way” so my in laws found out that the Church is fully booked for a year already because there are so many Chinese who wants to get married there 😛 It’s quite funny.. I told my man I don’t have to get married in a Church, but he was like “My parents really want us to get married in a church, its more traditional” haah.. I just looked at him like “but.. it’s not a Chinese tradition, how can it be more traditional?!” haha. It’s cute though

Leave a Reply

